Pater Noster


“Receive, O Lord, all my spirit. That which You have bestowed upon me. That which has become me, I give it all back to Thee. That which was in all of my memory. Take my entire will, all my desire, along with my fertility and whatever understanding that I possess. May Your hallowed name then accompany me, with Your Will and Your Spirit. Take my fertility along with my passion for living — that which has come from all of this liberty. Take it, and give me more.” – modified Suscipe prayer of Ignatius of Loyola

So may the love for God and the fellowship of His Holy Spirit be with us. Hallowed, on this day. May you become more than what appears, in your trans-missions. To accompany all of your short-comings. In the movement in the story of life, with all of your deficit spending.

And so the above fertility prayer, with the debt owed to all those who preceded me.

And so the above fertility prayer, like at the Offertory. With all that you have been given by the past, in your quest for discovery, to look upon, within, beyond persons and things … and discover the connection. Inside an institution which taught millions how to pray. Together. And you were thought to be a romantic, but hated to go to church or temple? The one which appeared to be crumbling. As the creed changed in the me-generation from “We believe” to “I believe.” In a world where the Muslim God was awakening Christianity and Judaism. Over Birthright, and human life. And all the conflict over public and private accommodation. As the largest church in the world lost its sense of mission, no longer appealing to distant people in their own languages. More like the days of the old Roman Empire or the Third Reich when people were forced to communicate in the manner of the dominant power. This is what is called the New Evangelizatin.

“I am in love with my God. And my God was in love with me.” The amazing thing was that day waking up in a true reality that my God was in love with me. And the deep feeling within. Over the connections. The feelings. When you were not in love with my God alone, but One Who was shared. With others.

So despite the interpretations of the New Missal with the new creed, as one poor example of this New Evangelization of Benedict XVI — with something lost forever, if not sacrificed — stealing my fervor if not my perspective, the wide-open lingering question to the Father of Faith, “Where is the lamb?” And note the translation of the Pater Noster is not MY FATHER, but OUR FATHER.

“Receive, O Lord, all my spirit. That which You have bestowed upon me. That which has become me, I give it all back to Thee. That which was in all of my memory. Take my entire will, all my desire, along with my fertility and whatever understanding that I possess. I return ‘it.’ ‘It’ being the sacrifice, yet in a much smaller way. ‘All’ is yours now, in a much smaller way. Dispose of ‘it,’ according to the birth right of forgiveness, because Your love and Your Grace are ENOUGH for me. May Your hallowed name then accompany me, with Your Will and Your Spirit. Take my fertility along with my passion for living — that which has come from all of this liberty. Take ‘it,’ and give me more.” – modified Suscipe prayer of Ignatius of Loyola

https://www.jrsusa.org/donate.cfm/

All rights reserved for the works on these pages, through Copyright © 2012.

anunslife.org

1 comment so far

  1. paperlessworld on

    In the startle when you were focused and someone snuck up on you, like a kind of startle response to God.

    Take Lord, receive my innocence. Take Lord, receive my independence. Take Lord, receive my memory. Take Lord, receive my understanding. Take Lord, in the breaking of all that I have, receive this liberty. Take Lord, receive my prayer. Take Lord.

    Interdependence. Hallowed connection. In the Prayer of Hallowed-ness to a God without a name …except for Father? And what of this nameless Will be done? With Your inheritance and this nameless Will be done … On earth….in Your kingdom here, as the jumping off point from earth for daily bread, in the breaking of all that I have, this day. Lead us, to sacrifice (as an emigrant) a TIME and a PLACE for a future, to sustain life and Spirit. Lead us, and forgive us as emigrants and refugees for trespassing over the past boundaries of PLACE and TIME. Connect us to a place and to each other, for a future, in the process of dealing, with the disruptions. When time is disrupted and people are displaced, there are both the disrupted and the displaced, living without, whether a PLACE or a TIME (ghosts). Forgive us all that we do, to profit from Your creation and in what has come this way in an inheritance. As we forgive other profiteers. Because we will leave something else behind, too. Like a fertility in the prayer which often is the cause of human evil. And…because he that fights monsters should see to it that he does not become a monster….please deliver us … from evil. Amen

    What meaning did the Kaddish Prayer of Isaac, of Jacob, have, in a variation on a theme?

    That startle, as Your hallowed name then accompanies me.


Leave a Reply

